Self Aware

you were born a poet

from the cool sting of that first breath

sliding down your infant lungs

to the slap of reality

placed on your newborn skin

but maybe the place of poetry

forms miles beneath the surface

behind the womb-like colors dancing in your face:

the sounds, the warmth, the fullness.

About sparrowsong

I dream of impossible things and then make them happen. View all posts by sparrowsong

3 responses to “Self Aware

  • sharmishtha

    beautiful. very true. i guess all poets feel like this.

    i am onboard πŸ™‚

  • Sharie Sloane Gauerke

    What a beautiful poem, Trisha. Is this yours? I love the way it sounds and feels. Do you think we were all born poets, but some of us have lost our creativity through the challenges in our lives? Some people become more creative through trials and others hide ourselves in fear. Clearly you aren’t hiding your poetic nature and I’m so glad. Love, Sharie

  • sparrowsong

    I’m so excited to have you on board, Sharmishtha!

    I’m glad you liked my poem, Sharie. I’m also flattered it could be mistaken for Trisha’s. πŸ˜€ That’s a good sign.

    I’m Doraline but you can call me Rie. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

